## Lewis & Clark Conference Meeting April 25, 2012 – 4:30 p.m. Geno's Steakhouse 121 West 1st Street Wayne, NE

The Lewis & Clark Conference Administrator's Meeting was held April 25, 2012 at 4:30 p.m. at Geno's Steakhouse in Wayne, Nebraska. Roll call was taken and schools present were: Bancroft-Rosalie, Bloomfield, Hartington, Newcastle, Ponca, Osmond, Wakefield, Walthill, Wausa, Winnebago, Winside, and Wynot. Allen arrived at 4:40. Guest in attendance: Randolph, Laurel, Creighton, Plainview and West Holt.

Bloomfield made a motion, seconded by Walthill, to approve the agenda for the April 25th meeting. Motion carried 12/0.

Osmond made the motion, seconded by Wakefield to approve the February 15, 2012 minutes. Motion carried 12/0.

Wausa made the motion, seconded by Newcastle to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented. Motion carried 12/0.

Ponca made the motion and seconded by Allen to establish a Jim Winch Award, to be named after Jim Winch, which would honor a person nominated from their school for outstanding service to their school or to the conference. A steering committee would be formed to setup criteria. Suggestions:

- 1. Establish a committee to make up criteria.
- 2. Establish a committee to select the honoree.

3. Make the presentation at half time of the conference basketball tournament.

**Rational:** An opportunity to recognize community members for their service to a conference school or to the conference. Roll call was taken (Aye 13/Nay 0). Motion carried. **This was the <u>second</u> reading for constitutional revision.** 

There was a second reading on the request by Randolph Public School to join the Lewis and Clark Conference. Winnebago made the motion to accept Randolph into the Lewis and Clark Conference starting the 2013-2014 school year and Wausa second the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 13/Nay 0). Motion carried. **This was the <u>second</u> reading for constitutional revision.** 

Creighton Public Schools submitted a formal written request to join the Lewis and Clark Conference. Creighton Public School representative was available to answer any questions. After a short discussion Winnebago made the motion to accept Creighton Public School into the Lewis and Clark Conference starting the 2013-2014 school year. Wausa seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 13/ Nay 0). Motion carried. **This was the <u>first</u> reading for constitutional revision**.

Laurel-Concord-Coleridge Public Schools submitted a formal written request to join the Lewis and Clark Conference. Laurel-Concord-Coleridge Public School representative was available to answer any questions. After a short discussion Wausa made the motion to accept Laurel-Concord-Coleridge Public Schools into the Lewis and Clark Conference starting the 2013-2014 school year. Allen seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 13/ Nay 0). Motion carried. **This was the** <u>first</u> reading for constitutional revision.

Plainview Public School submitted a formal written request to join the Lewis and Clark Conference. Plainview Public School representative was available to answer any questions. After a short discussion Osmond made the motion to accept Plainview Public School into the Lewis and Clark Conference starting the 2013-2014 school year. Allen seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 13/Nay 0). Motion carried. **This was the <u>first</u> reading for constitutional revision**.

West Holt Public School submitted a formal written request to join the Lewis and Clark Conference. West Holt Public School representative was available to answer any questions. After a short discussion Osmond made the motion to accept West Holt Public School into the Lewis and Clark Conference starting the 2013-2014 school year. Bancroft-Rosalie seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 0/Nay 12/Abstain 1). Motion failed.

Wakefield made a motion to use a formula for conference instrumental music, oneact, speech and vocal clinic which would allow \$100 or 10%, whichever is greater for all expenses accrued when hosting these activities. Hartington seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 8/Nay 5). Motion failed due to a 2/3 required vote as stated in the constitution.

The President/Treasurer of the conference for the 2012-2013 school year will be Winnebago Superintendent, Dan Fehringer according to the Lewis and Clark Conference Constitution rotation. Kristie Hayes will remain as the Lewis and Clark Conference Secretary.

Wakefield made the motion to pay the conference secretary for secretarial duties and also for creating the conference programs for volleyball and basketball. Payment to the Music Librarians, Conference Volleyball Directors, Conference Basketball Directors, Conference Golf, Conference Track Directors and the host school (Winside) for 2011-2012 school year. The motion was seconded by Bloomfield. **No roll call was needed.** 

Wausa made a motion to approve the dates and sites of the conference calendar of 2012-2013 as presented with the exception that Ponca will host the Conference Boys Basketball tournament consolation round at Ponca and Wakefield will host the Conference Girls Basketball tournament consolation round. Winnebago second the motion. A roll call vote was taken (Aye 13/Nay 0). Motion carried.

Under discussion items the date for an Athletic Directors spring meeting was set for May 2, 2012 at the ESU #1 from 9:00-12:00. The music directors meeting was set for May  $16^{th}$  at the ESU #1 from 9:00 to 12:00.

Under conference track report an alternative date was set for the conference track meet to be held Monday, April 29,<sup>7</sup> 2013.

The next Lewis and Clark Administrator's meeting will be held on Wednesday, September 5, 2012 at 4:30 p.m. at Geno's Steakhouse in Wayne, Nebraska.

The fall 2012-2013 Activity Sponsors Annual Meeting will be held on Wednesday, August 22, 2012 at 6:30p.m., with the meeting to follow at 7:00p.m. The place will be determined by the 2012-2013 conference president, Dan Feringer.

Hartington made the motion and Wynot seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting.

Respectfuly Submitted, Kristie Hayes – Lewis and Clark Conference Secretary